SUSTAINABILITY

WE CARE ABOUT THE ENVIRONMENT.

ENVIRONMENTALLY CONSCIOUS

Resource-saving production

Resources are not unending, but are, in fact, a rare good. We accept this responsibility. For this reason, MAPLAN machinery exhausts every opportunity to optimise energy efficiency and avoid waste which the current level of technology provides.

Energy efficiency

  • Energy-saving drive – MAP.cooldrive
    The servo-motor drive matches the amount of power that is actually required, meaning it can provide sensational energy savings of up to 70 percent.
    Mehr …
  • Intelligent temperature control – MAP.dci
    Through intelligent, demand-based regulation of the MAP.DCI temperature units’ flow rate, energy consumption is reduced by up to 80 percent – and this is achieved at the same time as improved accuracy control.
    Mehr …
  • Energy monitoring – MAP.energywatcher
    In many businesses, uneconomical energy usage can often go unrecognised for a long time.Precise awareness of energy flows as well as a visualisation of energy consumption constitute the essential basis for the implementation of energy-saving measures. And that is exactly what the MAP.EnergyWatcher makes possible by permanently logging the resource consumption of a given injection moulding machine. Consumption is recorded and can be calculated on that basis, meaning it can continuously be optimised.With the MAP.energywatcher, process engineers and technicians will also be able to calculate the energy used by individual machine parts in future. This will be of great benefit in the calculation of new and article related parts, since it will be based on real data.There are further comprehensive analysis opportunities available:

    • Energy per shift, day or period of time as defined by the user (comparable with a trip meter)
    • Energy consumption for the product just produced

    The MAP.energywatcher is available in three variants:

    1. For the measurement of power: MAP.powerwatcher
    2. For the measurement of water: MAP.waterwatcher
    3. For the measurement of air pressure: MAP.airwatcher
  • Additional heating plate isolation
    All new MAPLAN machines are fitted with strong side isolation of the heating plates as standard. This additional isolation leads to a significantly raised level of energy efficiency and also helps in the optimal distribution of temperature.


LOW WASTE

The avoidance of expensive material waste is likewise a sustainability issue for MAPLAN.

  • Compound change without loss of material
    With MAPLAN machinery, there is no expensive loss of material when changing compounds since it is not necessary to clean either with material compounds or other cleaning materials. Furthermore, the injection unit’s simple and straightforward design means that no material is wasted owing to it becoming dirty. As a result, you can change from colour to colour easily and in a way that saves you money.
  • Extra stiff closing unit
    Thanks to the stiff, plane parallel closing unit as well as the large-scale assistance provided by the closing piston, only a low amount of burr results on the article.
ADVANCED. Lean Production.

GREEN PRODUCTION

ADVANCED. MAPLAN’s green concept

Not only did we double our capacity in 2016 with the new MAPLAN plant in Kottingbrunn, we also implemented a sustainable energy concept from the beginning on. Over an area of 42,000 square metres, we set up a production facility – including office buildings – with which we were able to make our high architectonic, technological and ecological standards a reality.

Sustainability, like efficiency, is a common thread that runs through the fabric of MAPLAN: from its offices and production sites to its storage facilities and fleet of vehicles. We have defined the SOCE parameter to ensure that these measures are implemented consistently. SOCE stands for security, order, cleanliness and energy. This is the measure by which we assess every single square metre each week. Nobody should be looking for parts at their workplace and no machine should be operating unnecessarily.

Sustainability needs to be anchored in the operational environment

We are convinced that it is not enough to implement sustainability measures on a purely ad hoc basis. A commitment to sustainability needs to be seen in the entire operational environment across the long term. A look at the environment today shows that responsible corporate behaviour is more important than ever. This is because climate change is a reality, and we see it as our duty to make a contribution to sustainability, to energy efficiency and to the protection of the environment in a way that goes beyond statutory requirements.

MAPLAN’s green concept

A large portion of Maplan’s company premises is covered with greenery while trees cast shade in the car park and reeds have been planted around the pond that is legally required for fire-fighting purposes. The photovoltaic system on the roof supplies three quarters of the entire site’s energy requirements with its 200 kilovolt-amperes. The production site’s floor is equipped with underfloor heating which is heated or cooled using a ground water heat pump. The floor heating doesn’t only make sense from an ecological perspective. It also has real added value for our staff, who do not find their heads being heated from above, as in other factories, while they stand on a cold floor.

Energy efficiency courtesy of LED technology, thermal glazing and water heat pumps

Our power consumption is not only kept low thanks to modern LED technology. The lighting system also provides optimal lighting conditions in the evening thanks to brightness control. Additional energy efficiency is ensured by thermal glazing and external shading of the windows by exterior roller blinds. At the new site in Kottingbrunn, four wells have also been dug: three suction and discharge wells with ground water and a water heat pump which heats the factory hall and the office building in winter and which cools them in summer. The underfloor heating in the factory hall also functions using the water heat pump.

Electro-mobility at MAPLAN is a lived reality

Electric cars are also available for travel. Four of them can also be used by our staff to travel to work for free as part of carpools. We are also replacing the company cars we have had at management level until now with electric cars one by one.

MAPLAN: A puzzle consisting of energy efficiency and sustainability

Besides switching to electro-mobility, the optimisation of logistics routes also plays an important role at MAPLAN. Forklift journeys and transport routes can be reduced through optimisation and perfect logistics.

Everything meshes together – energy efficiency and sustainability at MAPLAN are composed of many small and large individual parts. And all of these measures taken together are having an effect: between 2015 and 2018, we were able to halve our electricity consumption and even reduce our gas consumption by two thirds – and we were able to achieve this even though our production increased by 40 percent during this time.

UMWELT

UMWELTBEWUSST IN DIE ZUKUNFT

UMWELTBEWUSST

Ressourcenschonende Produktion

Ressourcen sind nicht unendlich, sondern ein rares Gut. Dieser Verantwortung stellen wir uns.
Darum schöpfen MAPLAN-Maschinen alle Möglichkeiten zur Optimierung der Energieeffizienz und Abfallvermeidung aus, die sich mit dem Stand der Technologie bieten.

Energieeffizienz

  • Energiesparender Antrieb – MAP.cooldrive
    Der servomotorische Antrieb passt sich an den tatsächlichen Leistungsbedarf an und führt so zu einer sensationellen Energieersparnis von bis zu 70 Prozent.
    Mehr …
  • Intelligente Temperierung – MAP.dci
    Durch eine intelligente, bedarfsabhängige Regelung des Förderstroms der MAP.DCI-Temperiergeräte wird der Energieverbrauch um bis zu 80 Prozent reduziert – und das bei gleichzeitiger Verbesserung der Regelgüte.
    Mehr …
  • Energiemonitoring – MAP.energywatcher
    In vielen Betrieben bleibt häufig lange Zeit unerkannt, wenn Energie unwirtschaftlich genutzt wird.Die exakte Kenntnis über die Energieströme sowie die Visualisierung des Verbrauchs stellen eine wesentliche Grundlage dar, um Energiesparmaßnahmen zu setzen. Genau das ermöglicht der MAP.EnergyWatcher durch die permanente Erfassung des Betriebsmittelverbrauchs einer Spritzgießmaschine. Der Verbrauch wird aufgezeichnet und kann darauf basierend kalkuliert und so ständig optimiert werden. Mit dem MAP.energywatcher können Prozess- und Verfahrenstechniker zukünftig auch den Energieeinsatz pro Maschinenteil genau errechnen. Das bedeutet einen enormen Vorteil bei der Kalkulation von neuen und artikelverwandten Teilen, da diese Berechnung auf Echtdaten basiert.Weitere umfangreiche Analysemöglichkeiten bieten sich an:

    • Energie pro Schicht, Tag oder wählbarem Zeitraum (vergleichbar mit Tageskilometerzähler)
    • Energieverbrauch für das eben produzierte Produkt

    Der MAP.energywatcher steht in drei Varianten zur Verfügung:

    1. Für die Strommessung: powerwatcher
    2. Für die Wassermessung: waterwatcher
    3. Für die Druckluftmessung: airwatcher
  • Zusätzliche Heizplattenisolierung
    Alle neuen MAPLAN-Maschinen werden standardmäßig mit starker seitlicher Isolierung der Heizplatten ausgestattet. Diese zusätzliche Isolierung führt zu einer erheblich gesteigerten Energieeffizienz und unterstützt zudem die optimale Temperaturverteilung.


LOW WASTE

Die Vermeidung von teuren Materialabfällen fällt für MAPLAN ebenfalls unter Nachhaltigkeit.

  • Mischungswechsel ohne Materialverluste
    Bei MAPLAN-Maschinen fallen keine teuren Materialverluste beim Mischungswechsel an, da weder mit Materialmischungen noch mit anderen Reinigungsmaterialien gereinigt werden muss. Darüber hinaus entfällt der Materialausschuss aufgrund von Verschmutzungen der einfach und gerade konzipierten Spritzeinheit. So wechseln Sie unkompliziert und kostensparend von Farbe zu Farbe.
  • Schließeinheit extrasteif
    Durch die steife, planparallele Schließeinheit sowie die großflächige Unterstützung durch den Schließkolben ergibt sich ein geringer, kalkulierbarer Grat am Artikel.
ADVANCED. Lean Production.

GREEN PRODUCTION

Mit dem neuen MAPLAN-Werk in Kottingbrunn haben wir 2016 nicht nur unsere Produktionskapazität verdoppelt, sondern auch von Beginn an ein nachhaltiges Energiekonzept umgesetzt. Auf einem Areal von 42.000 Quadratmetern haben wir ein Produktionswerk samt Bürogebäude errichtet, mit dem wir unseren hohen architektonischen, technologischen und ökologischen Anspruch in die Realität umsetzen konnten.

Nachhaltigkeit zieht sich seither ebenso wie Effizienz wie ein roter Faden durch MAPLAN: von den Büros über Produktionsstätte und Lager bis zum Fuhrpark. Damit die Maßnahmen sitzen, haben wir die Kennzahl SOSE definiert. SOSE steht für Sicherheit, Ordnung, Sauberkeit und Energie. Damit bewerten wir wöchentlich jeden einzelnen Quadratmeter: Niemand soll an seinem Arbeitsplatz Teile suchen müssen, nirgendwo soll unnötig eine Maschine laufen.

Nachhaltigkeit muss im operativen Geschehen verankert sein

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass es nicht ausreicht, Nachhaltigkeit nur in punktuellen Maßnahmen zu zeigen. Ein Bekenntnis zur Nachhaltigkeit muss im gesamten operativen Geschehen langfristig sichtbar sein. Gerade mit Blick auf die Umwelt ist verantwortliches unternehmerisches Handeln heute wichtiger denn je. Denn der Klimawandel ist Realität, und wir sehen es als unsere Pflicht, einen Beitrag zur Nachhaltigkeit, zur Energieeffizienz und zum Klimaschutz zu leisten, der über gesetzliche Forderungen hinausgeht.

Das grüne Konzept von MAPLAN

Ein großer Teil des Firmengeländes von Maplan ist begrünt, auf dem Parkplatz spenden Bäume Schatten, und rund um den vorgeschriebenen Löschteich wurde Schilf gepflanzt. Die Photovoltaikanlage auf dem Dach deckt mit ihren 200 Kilovoltampere drei Viertel des Strombedarfs des gesamten Standorts ab. Der Boden der Produktionsstätte ist mit einer Fußbodenheizung ausgestattet, die durch eine Grundwasserwärmepumpe geheizt oder gekühlt wird. Die Fußbodenheizung ist nicht nur aus ökologischer Sicht sinnvoll. Sie hat auch einen echten Mehrwert für unsere Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, denen nicht – wie in anderen Werkshallen – eine Heizung auf den Kopf scheint, während sie auf kaltem Boden stehen.

Energieeffizienz dank LED-Technologie, Thermoverglasung und Wasserwärmepumpe

Den Stromverbrauch halten wir nicht zuletzt durch moderne LED-Technologie gering. Die Beleuchtung sorgt durch Helligkeitsregulierung außerdem auch abends für optimale Lichtverhältnisse. Zusätzliche Energieeffizienz wird durch Thermoverglasung und außenliegende Beschattung der Fenster durch Außenrollos sichergestellt. Am neuen Standort in Kottingbrunn wurden zudem vier Brunnen gegraben: drei Saug- und Schluckbrunnen mit Grundwasser und eine Wasserwärmepumpe, die die Werkshalle und das Bürogebäude im Winter beheizt und im Sommer kühlt. Auch die Fußbodenheizung in der Werkshalle funktioniert mit der Wasserwärmepumpe.

Elektromobilität bei MAPLAN gelebte Realität

Für Transportwege stehen acht Elektroautos bereit. Vier davon können unsere Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auch nutzen, um in Fahrgemeinschaften kostenlos zur Arbeit zu kommen. Und auch auf Managementebene tauschen wir nach und nach die bisherigen Firmenautos in Elektroautos ein.

MAPLAN: Ein Puzzle aus Energieeffizienz und Nachhaltigkeit

Neben der Verlagerung auf Elektromobilität spielt bei MAPLAN auch die Optimierung der Logistikwege eine Rolle. Durch Optimierung und perfekte Logistik lassen sich Staplerfahrten und Transportwege reduzieren.

Alles greift also ineinander – Energieeffizienz und Nachhaltigkeit setzen sich bei Maplan wie ein Puzzle aus vielen kleinen und großen Einzelteilen zusammen. Und alle diese Maßnahmen gebündelt zeigen Wirkung: Zwischen 2015 und 2018 konnten wir den Stromverbrauch halbieren und den Gasverbrauch sogar um zwei Drittel reduzieren – und das, obwohl wir im selben Zeitraum um 40 Prozent mehr produziert haben.